How to..Stay motivated

6 May

Heeeey everyone,

Today I wanted to write a blog post about staying motivated to keep exercising.. For me this is quite the problem, because my mind is always sabotaging me to delay my run.. Until it gets so delayed that I just don’t do it anymore.. Anyone ever had this problem? ;)

Hehe this polaroid reminds me a bit of a mug shot ;)

So here are some usefull tips to get the motivation going:

  • Keep a training log:  Just get a notebook and write some notes after each of your workouts. Be sure to mark your mileage, the date and the total amount of time it took to complete the workout. Maybe also a few comments about how you felt during and after the exercise. I have a Garmin forerunner 305 and it gatheres all the information I need on the computer. This motivates me because I can see where I’m improving and where I need to work on.
  • Lose the – all or nothing- mentality: If you don’t have the time to do an full workout,don’t slip into the -all or nothing- mentality. It’s better to go for a quick 2-mile run or a 20 min pilates dvd than to do nothing  at all. You’ll still get some advantages and you’ll probably feel much better mentally for not skipping an entire workout.
  • Think of a good phrase to get you going: Mine is “Just do it” because I overthink to much before starting my run. I just need to get dressed and go! This phrase can pop into your head as you’re listening to your iPod, chatting with fellow runners, or flipping through some magazines, making a vision board. Choose one that fits your personality, such as: “Just do it” or “Harder, faster, stronger”,..
  • Give yourself a little treat: Every now and then, treat yourself to some new exercise clothing or a massage or pedicure as a reward for your hard work. The treat will make you feel  more energized, and it will keep you motivated to tackle your next goal/race/..
  • Keep your health in mind: Exercise improves the way you look and feel. So make sure you periodically remind yourself of the health benefits you’re getting through doing exercise. Think about how much more energy you have, and how you now have a healthy way to relieve stress.

Here are some nice quotes –>



Challenges are what make life interesting; overcoming them is what makes life meaningful (Joshua J. Marine)



It’s easier to go down a hill than up it but the view is much better at the top. (Henry Ward Beecher


Motivation is what gets you started. Habit is what keeps you going. (Jim Ryan)

It’s very hard in the beginning to understand that the whole idea is not to beat the other runners. Eventually you learn that the competition is against the little voice inside you that wants you to quit. ( George Sheehan)

Questions:

- How do you stay motivated to keep exercising? Do you have a hard time keeping your motivation?

- Any other tips to stay motivated?

Have a nice day sweeties!

13 Responses to “How to..Stay motivated”

  1. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! May 6, 2011 at 12:02 pm #

    I looove this! It has been so hard for me to get motivated lately. I have just been so busy and stressed that sometimes its hard to just get up and going. But this post is definitely going to help! Thank you! :)

  2. czechvegan May 6, 2011 at 12:15 pm #

    Really nice post! Motivation is not that big problem for me, because exercise really helps me out with being in a good mood, being happy, energetic and confident. So when I know how I´ll feel AFTER the work out, it is enough of a motivation:)

  3. movesnmunchies May 6, 2011 at 12:23 pm #

    YES perfect tips!!! i have the SAME motto! just do it!!.. and i definitely agree to ditch the all of nothing mentality- i used to have that!.. i also jus switch up exercises to make it more fun!

  4. Ma Ma Megan May 6, 2011 at 1:36 pm #

    I use the motto just do it all the time. I mean really, It’s the simple JUST GET OUT THERE. ha.
    But I really like the quote about the hill.
    Great tips girl :)

  5. Faye May 7, 2011 at 7:44 am #

    Sometimes i find it hard to be motivated, even when i have goals to work towards. Instead of going out running i would usually change my routine and do something fun like an exercise class or weight training, but right now i have a race to train for, so when i sit there thinking should i go now or leave it till tomorrow i always think of this nike poster that says “if you left when you started thinking about it, you’d probably already be back by now”!

    • ellalinea May 8, 2011 at 2:57 pm #

      I love that quote!! It is awesome, maybe I’ll put it on my vision board :))

  6. kissmybroccoli May 7, 2011 at 6:04 pm #

    Love all the quotes girlie, especially the first one! I definitely try to focus on NOT having the all or nothing approach when it comes to working out. I also try not to give myself time to make up excuses or delay my workouts by either working out in the morning or directly after I get home from work. I just put on my workout clothes and usually (even if I feel like I don’t really want to) by the time I’m lacing up my tennis shoes, I have the motivation that I need. I like having a plan when I’m working out too…like using a DVD, writing out the exercises/reps, or having a set time/mileage while running because I know that I am not one to quit once I get started…it may take me longer, but I WILL push through and finish!

    • ellalinea May 8, 2011 at 2:57 pm #

      I also need a lot of work on the all or nothing approach but I’ve made a goal out of it now.. Even something is better than nothing :)))

  7. VeggieGirl May 8, 2011 at 11:13 am #

    My best friend = he keeps me motivated :) Love the quotes and LOVE your blog! I just subscribed to it so I don’t miss any posts.

    • ellalinea May 8, 2011 at 2:56 pm #

      Thanks Veggiegirl, that’s so sweet! :)

  8. cinnamonalicious May 8, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

    Aaah girl i just found your blog and i love it :D
    I just try to not think about it, just do it!! and remind myself of how awesome i’ll feel after! :)

    • ellalinea May 8, 2011 at 2:55 pm #

      Thanks girl, Nice to hear from you! :))

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 87 other followers

