Recipe: Tomato Hummus pasta

17 May

Hi guys!

Hope everything is going alrightie! For me life is bizzy bizzy bizzy at the moment, but that’s the way I like it ;) I got Paris and Germany coming up and a shoot for a jewelry campaign and some other options.. Yay!!! :D

Today I have a super easy recipe in store for you guys.. It takes about 20 minutes to whip up, even faster if you use canned tomato sauce..

Tomato Hummus Whole Wheat Pasta

Ingredients:

- Whole wheat pasta

-  2 tablespoons of hummus

- 2 cups of spinach, chopped

For the tomato sauce ( or use canned if you’re short of time)

  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 medium onion, finely chopped
  • 1 small carrot or 1/2 large carrot, finely chopped
  • 1 small stalk of celery, including the green tops, finely chopped
  • 2 Tbsp chopped fresh parsley
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried basil or 2 Tbsp chopped fresh basil
  • 1 28 oz. can whole tomatoes, including the juice, or 1 3/4 pound of fresh tomatoes, peeled, seeded, and chopped
  • 1 teaspoon tomato paste
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste     Source

Step 1: Make the tomato sauce –> 

Heat olive oil in a large wide skillet on medium heat. Add the chopped onion, carrot, celery and parsley. Stir to coat. Reduce the heat to low, cover the skillet and cook for 15 to 20 minutes, stirring occasionally until the vegetables are softened and cooked through.Remove cover and add the minced garlic. Increase the heat to medium high. Cook for garlic for 30 seconds. Add the tomatoes, including the juice and shredding them with your fingers if you are using canned whole tomatoes. Add the tomato paste and the basil. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Bring to a low simmer, reduce the heat to low and cook, uncovered until thickened, about 15 minutes. If you want you can push the sauce through a food mill, or blend it with an immersion blender, to give it a smooth consistency.

Step 2: Cook whole wheat pasta

Step 3: Mix tomato sauce with 2 tablespoons of hummus ( do this in the end, don’t let the hummus simmer)

Step 4: Mix in chopped spinach ( also right before serving, so the spinach stays crunchy)

The Result —–>

The hummus makes this tomato sauce really creamy.. delish!

Top with nutrional yeast..

Dinner last night: Steamed brocolli and beans with hummus, cashews and sunflower seeds

aaaaaaaand a protein muffin with 1/2 banana..

Before dinner I went for a run, I love those running pants :DD They are toooo comfy, can I wear them whilst lounging on the couch? ;)

I finished 5k in 37.05 min .. My goal is to get my time for a 5k to under 30 min.. Then I start training for the 1/2 marathon! :D

Questions:

-What do you wear to go running?

-Are you running for a race or just for fun?

7 Responses to “Recipe: Tomato Hummus pasta”

  1. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! May 17, 2011 at 4:42 pm #

    I love that pasta! I eat humus with tomato sauce all the time as a dip….I can’t wait to try it as a sauce though!

  2. VeggieGirl May 17, 2011 at 5:19 pm #

    This looks delicious!!

    Good luck with the busyness!

  3. movesnmunchies May 17, 2011 at 5:56 pm #

    ahh love this meal!! and love ur running outfit! you are stylin girl!

  4. kate May 17, 2011 at 6:11 pm #

    omg I love your outfit, so cute… and I love the idea of mixing hummus with pasta, brilliant!

  5. Ashley May 17, 2011 at 9:18 pm #

    That pasta looks delicious!

  6. Nissy May 17, 2011 at 11:41 pm #

    That pasta sauce looks delish!!

    Keep up the good work, I’me sure you’ll be running 5k in under 30mins soon enough.
    I’me sure you allready know but don’t rush it, listen to your body but keep that drive and strive to push your limits.

    Take care.

    Nissy.

  7. Ma Ma Megan May 18, 2011 at 12:18 am #

    Cute running outfit!!
    I’m not running for any races yet.. But I am taking cross country next year so I’ve gotta get better over the summer :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 87 other followers

