The Photoshop phenomenon..

21 Jun

Hi guys!

Today I wanted to do a little post about the photoshop phenomenon.. As a model, I’ve experienced myself that a lot of photos are being photoshopped.. Sometimes just a little to make the skin appear more healthy and to remove freckles, but sometimes the entire body or face of a model is being altered..

I’ve experienced this personally when seeing new pictures of fellow models and thinking “OMG she just lost a ton of weight” & ” What diet is she on, I must give it a go”! About 2 weeks later I see the same model at a casting and she looks perfectly normal and healthy.. And when I ask her about those certain pictures, she admits it’s all just photoshop..

I don’t like this phenomenon at all because it creates an unhealthy image about how a woman should be and what a woman is supposed to look like..Models aren’t freaks of nature with some kind of super genes ( ok there are some out there , but few) but the industry is defenitely creating that mindset..

For myself, I have to watch what I eat and try to eat healthy 90% percent of the time but I do eat icecream or chocolate once in a while..I’m only human :)

Before and after Photoshopping pictures:



I have one picture in my portfolio where my legs are lenghtened about 10 cm or about 4 inches –>

Ultra long legs? Not so much ;)

****************************************

I was reading Julie’s blog PB fingers and she made salmon burger for dinner last night.. I thought this would make an awesome lunch for me and the boyfriend..

Salmon burgers on whole wheat bread (adapted from PBfingers)

Ingredients:

  • 2 salmon filets
  • fresh chives
  • fresh rosemary
  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1/3 cup light mayonaise
  • salt
  • pepper
  • salsa herbs
  • garlic

Combine all the ingredients in the food processor and blend awaaaaaaaaaaay! ;)

Questions:

- Do you ever compare yourself with models or celebrities?

- Do you often believe that the photoshopped pictures are real?

- What’s your favorite salmon recipe?

4 Responses to “The Photoshop phenomenon..”

  1. cinnamonalicious June 21, 2011 at 6:39 pm #

    Oh lord, I used to always compare myself but now I just laugh cos I know these pictures couldn’t be real most of the time!!
    The pics you posted are crazy! How are they even allowed to do that?! it’s crazy!
    Oooh I saw those burgers too and they look amazing! deffo gonna be trying them out :D

  2. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! June 22, 2011 at 4:36 am #

    I love making salmon burgers! They are so flavorful!!!

    I think we all fall into the trap of comparing ourselves sometimes….and its hard not to because we are surrounded with photos of celebrities and models everywhere we look.

  3. kate June 23, 2011 at 3:54 am #

    wow its crazy to see how much photo shopping is done to pictures & its sad how much people compare themselves to these fake images of perfection.

  4. Kris | iheartwellness.com June 23, 2011 at 3:48 pm #

    YUM! These salmon cakes look fantastic!!! I love making simple baked salmon with olive oil, dill, and some lemon juice…hubba hubba!

    xxoo

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 87 other followers

